‘Jeopardy!’ executive producer Mike Richards in negotiations with Sony Pictures Television to become permanent host

‘Jeopardy!’ executive producer Mike Richards in negotiations with Sony Pictures Television to become permanent host

“Jeopardy!” executive producer Mike Richards is in advanced negotiations with Sony Pictures Television to become lasting host of the venerable quiz show, assuming control over the partnered stalwart that was fronted by Alex Trebek for a very long time.

After Trebek’s passing at 80 years old in November 2020, Sony started a series of guest hosts, some of whom were expecting to land the permanent slot. Richards, who joined the show simply last year as executive producer, intrigued Sony Pictures metal with his order of the speedy game and simple live way.

A Sony Pictures representative said conversations were progressing with a few expected applicants. He would not comment explicitly on Richards’ status. A source near the situation cautioned that there’s no assurance that the sides will settle a negotiation and that different candidates stay in the blend, despite the fact that Richards is obviously the leader.

Richards recently hosted the series “Divided” and “The Pyramid” for Sony Pictures’ GSN cabler.

Prior in his profession, Richards filled in as host of reality shows “High School Reunion” on The WB network and “Beauty and the Geek” for The CW. He joined “The Price Is Right” in 2008 as a co-chief maker. The next year he became executive producer and furthermore helped sell the restoration of “Let’s Make a Deal” to CBS, which he likewise leader delivered. When he assumed control over “Jeopardy,” Richards had created over 4,000 hours of game shows.

Richards came to Sony as leader maker of the VIP release of the “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire” specials for ABC.

Other visitor has that have fronted the show since the last Trebek episodes broadcasted in January incorporate Mayim Bialik, Anderson Cooper, Katie Couric, Bill Whitaker, Dr. Mehmet Oz, Ken Jennings, George Stephanopoulos, Robin Roberts, LeVar Burton, Savannah Guthrie, Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Aaron Rodgers and previous contestant Buzzy Cohen.

Previous hopeful Jennings was for quite some time seen as the front-runner Trebek. Jennings holds the record for the most consecutive “Jeopardy” wins with his 74-game streak from 2004. He likewise positions as the show’s highest-grossing winner with $2.52 million in ordinary play rewards (which does exclude later tournaments).

“Jeopardy!” is one of only a handful few remaining powerhouse syndicated series that positions as TV organization, in huge part on account of the suffering prominence of Trebek. The opposition to supplant Trebek was fierce. It’s perceived that Bialik and Cohen were among the champions who have additionally been firmly considered for the permanent job.

Topics #host #Jeopardy #Mike Richards #Sony Pictures Television
error: Content is protected !!