Artios Awards 2021: ‘Borat 2,’ ‘Trial of the Chicago 7,’ ‘Minari’ among Casting Society of America winners

The Casting Society of America handed out prizes in categories spanning TV, film and theater in a virtual event hosted by Yvette Nicole Brown.

The Casting Society of America revealed its winners for the 2021 Artios Awards on Thursday night.

The big budget comedy and drama film awards perceived two groups that cast Sacha Baron Cohen and others, with Borat Subsequent Moviefilm winning the comedy award and The Trial of the Chicago 7 winning the drama award.

Other film awards went to Soul (animation), The 40-Year-Old Version (studio or independent comedy), One Night in Miami (studio or independent drama), Minari (low-budget comedy or drama) and The Surrogate (micro-budget comedy or drama).

Television winners include The Great (pilot and first season comedy), Euphoria (pilot and first season drama), What We Do in the Shadows (comedy series), Succession (drama series), Normal People (limited series), Bad Education (non-theatrical film), A Black Lady Sketch Show (live TV performance, variety or sketch comedy), The Babysitter’s Club (children’s pilot and series, live-action), Big Mouth (TV animation) and Queer Eye (reality series).

The virtual event, hosted by Yvette Nicole Brown, celebrated casting directors in film, TV, theater and short-form projects.

The virtual ceremony wasn’t the solitary way the awards ceremony acknowledged the progressing COVID-19 pandemic, with stars and casting staffers somberly seriously examining the year where Broadway has been closed down and communicating the amount they anticipate live venue’s return.

Furthermore, Carol Kane narrated a montage of nominated films as she discussed how the manner in which individuals watch movies changed over the pandemic, with Brown communicating missing heading out to cinemas.

Earthy colored commenced the show by taking note of she was remaining solitary in her nursery with just an elevated screen for organization and said the evening would respect the TV shows and movies individuals depended on to get past the previous year.

Toward the start and end of the show, stars like highlighted the challenges of recording their own audition tapes, with Titus Burgess jesting that one of his extraordinary abilities is “surviving a pandemic.”

Yara Shahidi gave The Actors Fund the Rosalie Joseph Humanitarian award, with presenters encouraging viewers of the virtual event to give to the association all through the show.

Robi Reed and Tara Rubin were honored with the Hoyt Bowers award, with Spike Lee introducing to Reed, who cast a large number of his movies, including Do The Right Thing, Malcolm X, Mo Better Blues and Jungle Fever. Robi, Lee said, was “essential to my development as a filmmaker, the joints we made together, as she introduced me to great talent.”

Furthermore, Suzanne Smith won the inaugural Capelier-Shaw Award for excellence in casting.

The ceremony additionally featured tributes for late casting directors Lynn Stalmaster (regarded by John Travolta and Geena Davis among others) and Mike Fenton (from Drew Barrymore and Richard Dreyfuss).

Presenters included Amanda Kloots, Rachel Brosnahan, Pedro Pascal, Leslie Odom Jr., Paul Mescal and Indya Moore. Other stars who made appearances on the show included Matt Bomer, Alan Cummings, Daveed Diggs, Beanie Feldstein, John Carroll Lynch, Camryn Manheim Margo Martindale and Ming-Na Wen.

Add Comment