Alabama’s DeVonta Smith turns out to be first wide recipient to win Heisman Trophy in almost 30 years

Alabama Crimson Tide wide recipient DeVonta Smith has been awarded the Heisman Trophy for the 2020 college football season.

This is the first run through a wide recipient has won the renowned honor since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991, and Smith turns out to be only the fourth wide beneficiary to win the Heisman since its initiation in 1935.

A college football season dissimilar to some other additionally had an honor service not at all like some other. Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, Smith acknowledged the honor essentially from the University of Alabama grounds in Tuscaloosa. The honor is regularly introduced in December at an elegant occasion in New York.

Yet, a season that normally begins in August didn’t start until late September.

The senior wideout has had a predominant season for the undefeated Tide, getting 105 passes for 1,641 yards and 20 scores.

“I kind of feel relieved just that it’s over with now (and) I can focus on this last game,” Smith said. “It feels great just to hear my name called.”

Smith is relied upon to star in Alabama’s impending public title game against the Ohio State Buckeyes set for January 11 at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida.

The Heisman Trophy is introduced to the player who is casted a ballot the country’s most exceptional school football player. Three players from Alabama have won the honor – Smith, running back Mark Ingram in 2009 and running back Derrick Henry in 2015.

“It’s a blessing. Those guys set a standard,” he said. “And I’m just excited that I got a chance to come here and try to play to that standard and set the standard for everybody else that is coming after.”

Smith won the honor with 1,856 focuses. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence, who numerous observers anticipate as the main pick in the NFL draft, was second with 1,187 focuses. Lawrence missed two games after he gotten the Covid.

Smith’s colleague, quarterback Mac Jones, was third; Florida quarterback Kyle Trask was fourth; and Alabama running back Najee Harris was fifth.

Smith said being one of four wide recipients to win the honor “means a lot to me.”

Previous Auburn star Bo Jackson, the Heisman champ in 1985, tweeted: “Congrats young man and Roll Tide to @DeVontaSmith_6 on winning the @HeismanTrophy – Welcome to the club!”

Add Comment