2020 Americana Awards : The Highwomen, John Prine win big honors

The Highwomen were the large victors at the nineteenth yearly Americana Honors and Awards, which were reported on the Americana Music Association’s online media channels Tuesday (Dec. 15) rather than at their standard festival at the noteworthy Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

The Highwomen cleared three of the six enrollment casted a ballot grants: collection of the year for their eponymous introduction; tune of the year for “Swarmed Table,” composed by bunch individuals Brandi Carlile and Natalie Hemby with top musician Lori McKenna; and couple/gathering of the year. Maren Morris and Amanda Shires balance the top pick group of four.

Dave Cobb created The Highwomen’s collection. This is the fifth time in the previous seven years that Cobb has delivered the victor in this classification. He likewise created John Prine’s last studio collection The Tree of Forgiveness, which won a year ago, and Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit’s The Nashville Sound, which won two years back. Prior to that, he delivered Isbell’s independent collections Something More Than Free (the 2016 victor) and Southeastern (2014).

Prine, who died in April 2020 at age 73, won artist of the year for a record fourth time. He recently won in 2005, 2017 and 2018. Prine was the principal craftsman to be selected after death in this class, significantly less to win. Prine won a 2003 Americana lifetime accomplishment grant for songwriting.

Black Pumas won arising demonstration of the year. The pair has numerous Grammy nominations this year, including collection of the year for the fancy version of their introduction, Black Pumas, and record of the year for “Colors.” The couple was Grammy-assigned for best new artist a year prior.

Fiddle player Brittany Haas won the honor for instrumentalist of the year. An individual from the group of four Hawktail, Haas has likewise worked together with so much specialists as Steve Martin, Béla Fleck and Abigail Washburn. This is the third time in the previous five years that a female performer has won instrumentalist of the year. Molly Tuttle, a guitarist, won in 2018. Fiddle player Sara Watkins won in 2016.

“I could not be more proud of this slate of winners,” said Jed Hilly, executive director of the Americana Music Association, in a statement. “Although we terribly miss celebrating together at the Ryman as we usually have in years past, we’re thrilled to still be able to recognize these distinguished members of our community.”

NPR Music’s World Café, SiriusXM Outlaw Country, Gimme Country and different radio broadcasts will praise the current year’s chosen people and champs with unique programming.

Here are the 2020 Americana Honors and Awards winners:

  • Album of the year: The Highwomen, The Highwomen, produced by Dave Cobb
  • Artist of the year: John Prine
  • Song of the year: “Crowded Table,” The Highwomen, written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby and Lori McKenna
  • Duo/group of the year: The Highwomen
  • Emerging act of the year: Black Pumas
  • Instrumentalist of the year: Brittany Haas